Fucking rude

Some people are just so fucking rude.

Everyone needs assistance at sometime, not everyone needs assistance all the time, but people who refuse assistance because of some mis-guided thought that being assisted some how makes them more reliant on that person really only assist to screw themselves up further. I’m not even talking about assistance on a personal level. Take my neighbour as an example.

She invites me in for coffee every few days. We aren’t the best of friends but as stay at home mothers we do look out for each other a little bit. She never accepts an invite to my house, when I am there she never accepts my offers to help make the coffee and she even refuses offers of supply cakes or biscuits. Now that’s not overly strange in itself, many people like having people in their homes and like their own comforts but what I witnessed yesterday was downright fucking rude.

I was a little surprised yesterday’s invite happened because Gail’s sister was visiting from out of town and we don’t usually do coffee when she has other visitors. I was even more surprised when the coffee invite extended to lunch, however there we were sitting in Gail’s kitchen, both Penny and I had offered to help, I was met with “no”, whilst Penny was met with “My house, I can do it myself”. Both of us shrugged it off in the same way so I guessed it wasn’t just me that Gail did such things too.

Then when it was time to clear the table of course Gail wouldn’t even allow us to take our own mugs or plates to the sink. However in her rush to ensure she did everything herself she swept one mug off the table and dropped another. Both Penny and I jumped (as one does) to help clean up but neither of us even got to the floor before Gail screamed, actually screamed.

“Just fucking leave it, I can do it myself!”

We both looked at each other and I could tell from Penny’s reaction that she wasn’t surprised. Nothing further was said until just before I was leaving when Gail went to the toilet and Penny told me that such reactions from Gail are pretty much the norm.

She then told me how one day Gail even screamed and swore at their god fearing mother with such ferocity that the two of them didn’t speak again for nearly two months.

Sadly I’m not the sort of person who can just ignore others when there is something I can help them with, I used to be but I realised how few people stayed around me. It might only be turning the kettle on, or taking a plate to the sink and I don’t do it because I want some kind of kudos, I don’t do it because I think the other person is incapable. I do it because it’s the sort of thing I was taught as a kid and then tried to teach my own kids. The same bloody thing that many of these sorts of people try to teach their own kids.

If I thought it would help I’d say something to Gail, but I neither feel like we are close enough friends to say such things or think she’d accept it because if her family haven’t changed her over the years I doubt I can. So yes this is a rant, and no it wont be read by the person who needs to read it, but I had to get it off my chest.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

